Gorden Tallis
Website Gorden Tallis

Gorden Tallis

NRL Hall of Fame

Gorden Tallis fondly known as the “Raging Bull” won 3 NRL Premierships with the Brisbane Broncos in 1997, 1998 & 2000. He was awarded the Clive Churchill Medal for best on ground in the 2000 Grand Final. In total, Gorden played 214 NRL games, 18 games for QLD in State of Origin and 20 Tests for Australia. He won the 2000 Rugby League World Cup.

Gorden was given the nickname the “Raging Bull” because of his fearless, no-holds-barred style of forward play. In a magnificent career where he won every trophy on offer to him, Gorden retired at the end of the 2004 season having Captained his Club, State and Country.

After 12 years of competing at the highest level in rugby league, Gorden was appointed to the NRL board in 2005. His appointment was well received in rugby league circles and he was hand-picked by the NRL to “invigorate” the game’s administration. The NRL’s emphasis in recent years has been to adopt a vibrant and relevant approach to the game’s administration and the NRL regarded Gorden, with his straight-talking attitude, as the most appropriate person to bring a player’s perspective to the board’s administration. Gorden’s tenure on the Board concluded in June 2008 due to News Limited’s rotation policy of its Board Members.  

Since retirement, Gorden has embarked on a successful career in the media & corporate world. In 2006 he was introduced as part of the Fox Sports rugby league commentary team – a role which expanded in 2007 and now sees him as a regular presenter on Monday Night Football & NRL on Fox.


In 2009, Gorden was appointed assistant coach at the South Sydney Rabbitohs. He was also an integral part of the coaching staff for the indigenous All Stars team in 2010 and 2011. He also funds and helps organise the annual Gorden Tallis Cup - a weekend junior rugby league competition that attracts 300 young footballers.

In 2018, Gorden was inducted into the Australian Rugby League Hall of Fame. He is a member of the Indigenous Team of the Century (2008) and the NRL Team of the 1990’s (2003).


Scroll to Top